The 1823 lighthouse in Stonington Connecticut was first built in 1823 to guide vessels crossing Long Island Sound. Ships could see the beacon as far as 12 miles out to sea. Due to storms and erosion, the lighthouse was dismantled and rebuilt in its present location in 1840. It remained in use for the next 49 years. In 1927, it was designated as a museum and contains 6 rooms depicting local history and specialized trades through exhibits. The lighthouse museum exhibits antiques including a fine display of Stonington pottery. Visitors can climb to the tower and see a sweeping view of the harbor and shoreline.