While in Old Saybrook, we made an appointment to see antiques dealers Steve and Carol Huber. Their wonderful shop is filled with beautiful examples of schoolgirl needlework. The oldest portion of the building dates from 1649. At that time, it was an ammunition store for a fort on the Connecticut River. An addition to the front in 1740 creates a handsome building and perfect showcase for their fine and rare collection.
On August 13 & 14, the Huber’s will host an open house at their shop. They will give free appraisals of needlework. Later this year, their new book With Needle and Brush: Schoolgirl Embroidery from the Connecticut River Valley will go on sale. The scope of this book covers embroidery by girls and young women living in the Connecticut River Valley during the period 1740-1830. The book follows an exhibition the Huber’s organized earlier this year at the Florence Griswold Museum.